Association of Retirement Organizations
in Higher Education

AROHE Board of Directors

The AROHE Board of Directors provides strategic direction and support to the organization. Comprised of innovative and forward-thinking leaders with expertise in facilitating retiree engagement, the board helps to ensure that AROHE furthers its goal of transforming retirement in higher education. Read board profiles.


Trudy Fernandez


Florida International University

William A. Verdini


Arizona State  University

Susan Kress


Skidmore College

Caroline Kane

Treasurer &

UC Berkeley


Roger Baldwin

Michigan State University

Gray Crouse

Emory University

Emma Gillom Ward

University of Mississippi

Cherie Hamilton

University of Minnesota

Hoke Hill

Clemson University

Diane Lee

University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Joan Merdinger

San Jose State University

Linda Pearson

Ivy Tech Community College

Joyce M. Szabo

University of New Mexico

Kent Weaver

University of Toronto

Ex Officio Members

Sue Barnes

Sue Barnes

Interim Executive Director


Janette Brown

Janette Brown

Executive Director Emerita

University of Southern California

The board holds video conference meetings each month, typically on the second Thursday of the month. Any AROHE member may join a board meeting by contacting the AROHE office to make arrangements.

Board terms are two years, with the current term ending on December 31, 2020. Elections for new board members are typically held shortly following the biennial AROHE conference.

Get Involved


Contact Us

Email (preferred):

Telephone: 213-740-5037


835 West 34th Street

URC 103

Los Angeles, CA 90089-0751

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software